A Walk Through New York’s Largest Photography Show

 
In terms of timing, photography is quite a recent storytelling medium. Appeared a mere couple of hundred years ago, it has evolved over time from a way to documenting everything from a family portrait to landscapes, war zones, street scenes, and beyond. In the end, I don’t know anyone who described photography better that Susan Sontag:
 
“To collect photographs is to collect the world.” ― Susan Sontag Click To Tweet
 
I like “The Photography Show” because of the way it reflects the worldliness of photography today. Through an eclectic but fine curation, the show manages to hit the spot and to give a taste of a multitude of viewpoints of what is considered photography today. This year I was especially excited to see an extended section of photo book publishers — showcasing a selection of fine and beautiful photo books, all crafted with attention to the final product I’ve never seen in book publishing before.

 

 


 

 

Pier 92/94, a stunning space to show art with some good daylight

 

A Piece from Robert Koch gallery from San Francisco

 

 

 


 

A photo book publisher section I was excited to discover

 

Conveyor Editions, a small publisher based in Jersey City. See my list of favorite publishers at the end of the post 👇.

 

 

Steidl stand. If you haven’t seen Gerhard Steidl’s documentary on the tremendously detailed approach to making books, make sure to watch it

 

 

Silas Finch, a foundation, and publisher based Upstate New York

 

Brooklyn-based TIS Books

 

 

 

“Sein” book release by Japan-based publisher Super Labo has a special supplement with an art print

 

 

 

 

 

 

My Favorite Photo Books from 2018 AIPAD Photography Show

1. Cézanne’s Objects by Joel Meyerowitz (Aperture) $36 on Amazon, 2. Seeing Things by Joel Meyerowitz (Aperture) $17 on Amazon, 3. Mapping, Conveyor Magazine No. 2 (Conveyor) $20, 4. Daily, in a Nimble Sea by Barry Stone (Silas Finch) $75 on Amazon, 5. Interviews and Conversations by Henri Cartier-Bresson (Aperture) $18 on Amazon

 

Photo Book Publishers

U.S.A.

  1. TIS Books (Brooklyn)   tisbooks.pub
  2. Aperture (New York)  aperture.org
  3. Artbook (New York)  artbook.com
  4. Kris Graves Projects (Queens, NYC)   krisgravesprojects.com
  5. Light Work (Syracuse, NY)   lightwork.org
  6. Silas Finch (Upstate NY)  silasfinch.org
  7. Conveyor Editions (Jersey City, NJ)  conveyoreditions.com
  8. 21st Editions (South Dennis, MA)  21steditions.com
  9. Daylight Books (Durham, NC)  daylightbooks.org
  10. Harper’s Books (East Hampton)  harpersbooks.com
  11. Hesse Press (LA)   hessepresse.com
  12. Lodima Press (Ottsville, PA)  lodima.org
  13. Minor Matters (Seattle)  minormattersbooks.com
  14. Radius Books (Santa Fe, NM)   radiusbooks.org
  15. TBW Books (Oakland, CA)  tbwbooks.com
  16. Twin Palms (Santa Fe, NM)  twinpalms.com
  17. Zatara Press (Richmond, VA)  zatarapress.com

 
International

  1. AKIO NAGASAWA Gallery (Tokyo)  akionagasawa.com
  2. Damiani (Italy)  damianieditore.com
  3. L’artiere (Italy)   lartiere.com
  4. Mack (London)  mackbooks.co.uk
  5. Super Labo (Japan)  superlabo.com

 

The Photography Show

April 5—8
Pier 94 (Midtown)
711 12 Ave. | View in map
aipadshow.com

Tickets $30 per day (Buy on aipadshow.com)
SHOWHIDE Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.