New York’s Largest Celebration of Independent Record Labels

 

For a design anthropologist, records are both an expression of sound and visual. As objects, they are beautiful to hold and to listen and discover music. I’ve been fascinated with how records have been gaining back in popularity (I even went to a record factory in New Jersey to find out how a modern vinyl printer works). In New York, the record craze pinnacles in March, when thousands of music geeks and lovers congregate at MoMA P.S.1 in Long Island City for Come Together, a day-long festival of record culture.

 


 

 

 

Inside the pop-up dome, a cozy series of lectures about music publishing plus live performances

 

 

Signage at P.S.1 to help visitors navigate the many floors of the space

 


 

 

 

 

Vinyl players around the space would allow the visitors to preview some of the titles they are curious about

 

 

The festival culminated in a massive market of some 75 independent record labels showing their latest releases

 

 

 

 

 

 

A special set curated by record store Other Music and MoMA PS1 to celebrate the festival. Released in collaboration with The Vinyl Factory, 300 copies were pressed in their West London plant.

 

 

For a breath of fresh air, visitors could stop by at James Turrell’s installation located on the 3rd floor of P.S.1 — a room with no ceiling and with the clear sky for gazing

 

 

 

 

Directory of Record Labels

  1. Young Turks  theyoungturks.co.uk @yougturks
  2. Wharf Cat Records   wharfcatrecords.com  @wharfcatrecords
  3. Third man records  @thirdmanrecords
  4. The Kitchen
  5. Technicolour Records  technicolourrecords.bandcamp.com
  6. Superior Viaduct  superiorviaduct.com
  7. Smithsonian Folkways  folkways.si.edu   @smithsonianfolkways
  8. Rough Trade  roughtrade.com  @RoughTradeNYC
  9. Paxico Records  paxicoords.bandcamp.com  @paxicorecords
  10. Strut Records  strut-records.com
  11. Sub Pop Records   subpop.com  @subpop
  12. Sacred Bones Records  @sacredbones
  13. RVNG Intl.   igetrvng.com
  14. Partisan Records  partisanrecords.com @partisanrecords
  15. Palto Flats  paltoflats.com
  16. PTP Music  ptpmusic.com
  17. Omnian Music Group  omnianmusicgroup.com
  18. Not just a boys club  notjustaboysclub.com  @notjustaboysclub
  19. Northern Spy Records  northernspyrecs.com  @northernspyrecs
  20. Nonesuch Records  nnatapes.com
  21. Ninja Tune  ninjatune.net
  22. New World Records  newworldrecords.org
  23. New Amsterdam Records  newamrecords.com
  24. Never Normal Worldwide  newamrecords.com  @nevernormalrecords
  25. Mode Records  moderecords.com
  26. Mexican Summer  mexicansummer.com
  27. Mississippi Records  littleaxerecords.com
  28. Matador Records  matadorrecords.com
  29. LUAKA BOP  luakabop.com  @luakabop
  30. Kanine Records  kaninerecords.com  @kaninerecords
  31. KFR records  kfrrecords.bandcamp.com
  32. Jass Records  jassrecords.com
  33. Human Head Records humanheadnyc.com   @humanheadnyc
  34. GONER RECORDS  goner-records.com
  35. Gold Bolus Recordings  goldbolus.com
  36. Glassnote Records  glassnotemusic.com
  37. Ghostly International  ghostly.com  @ghostly
  38. Empty Editions  emptyeditions.bandcamp.com  @emptygallery_hk
  39. Don Giovanni Records  dongiovannirecords.com  @dongiovannirecords
  40. Dischord Records  dischord.com
  41. Daptone Records  daptonerecords.com  @daptonerecords
  42. Discwoman  discwoman.com  @discwomannyc
  43. DFA Records  store.dfarecords.com
  44. Counter Records  counterrecords.com  @counterrecords
  45. captured-tracks  capturedtracks.com  @capturedtracks
  46. Cantaloupe Music  cantaloupemusic.com  @cantaloupeny
  47. Bunny Jr  bunnyjr.club
  48. Brassland  brassland.org  @brassland
  49. Brainfeeder  brainfeedersite.com   @flyinglotus
  50. Blankstairs  blankstairs.bandcamp.com
  51. Big Dada  bigdada.com
  52. Big Crown Records  bigcrownrecords.com  @bigcrownrecords
  53. Bar/None Records  bar-none.com  @barnonerecords
  54. Astro Nautico  anthology.net
  55. Akashik Records & Tapes  akashik-records.net  @akashikrecords
  56. 4AD  4ad.com @4ad
  57. K7  k7.com

 

Thanks for reading! For live updates on my field explorations, follow me on Instagram, read my design tidbits on Twitter and subscribe to my weekly culture newsletter.

SHOWHIDE Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.