A Walk Through New York’s Largest Photography Show

In terms of timing, photography is quite a recent storytelling medium. Appeared a mere couple of hundred years ago, it has evolved over time from a way to documenting everything from a family portrait to landscapes, war zones, street scenes, and beyond. In the end, I don’t know anyone who described photography better that Susan Sontag: “To collect photographs is to collect the world.”

I like “The Photography Show” because of the way it reflects the worldliness of photography today. Through an eclectic but fine curation, the show manages to hit the spot and to give a taste of a multitude of viewpoints of what is considered photography today. This year I was especially excited to see an extended section of photo book publishers — showcasing a selection of fine and beautiful photo books, all crafted with attention to the final product I’ve never seen in book publishing before.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is IMG_8723.jpg
This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is IMG_8731.jpg
This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is IMG_8740.jpg
Pier 92/94, a stunning space to show art with some good daylight
This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is IMG_8733.jpg
A Piece from Robert Koch gallery from San Francisco
This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is IMG_8807.jpg
This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is IMG_8736.jpg
This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is IMG_8827.jpg
This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is IMG_8738.jpg
A photo book publisher section I was excited to discover
This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is IMG_8746.jpg
Conveyor Editions, a small publisher based in Jersey City. See my list of favorite publishers at the end of the post .
This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is IMG_8747.jpg
This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is IMG_8754.jpg
Steidl stand. If you haven’t seen Gerhard Steidl’s documentary on the tremendously detailed approach to making books, make sure to watch it
This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is IMG_8757.jpg
This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is IMG_8769.jpg
Silas Finch, a foundation, and publisher based Upstate New York
This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is IMG_8782.jpg
Brooklyn-based TIS Books
This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is IMG_8791.jpg
This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is IMG_8798.jpg
“Sein” book release by Japan-based publisher Super Labo has a special supplement with an art print
This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is IMG_8803.jpg
This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is IMG_8823.jpg
This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is IMG_8828.jpg

My Favorite Photo Books from 2018 AIPAD Photography Show

Photo Book Publishers

U.S.A.

  1. TIS Books (Brooklyn)   tisbooks.pub
  2. Aperture (New York)  aperture.org
  3. Artbook (New York)  artbook.com
  4. Kris Graves Projects (Queens, NYC)   krisgravesprojects.com
  5. Light Work (Syracuse, NY)   lightwork.org
  6. Silas Finch (Upstate NY)  silasfinch.org
  7. Conveyor Editions (Jersey City, NJ)  conveyoreditions.com
  8. 21st Editions (South Dennis, MA)  21steditions.com
  9. Daylight Books (Durham, NC)  daylightbooks.org
  10. Harper’s Books (East Hampton)  harpersbooks.com
  11. Hesse Press (LA)   hessepresse.com
  12. Lodima Press (Ottsville, PA)  lodima.org
  13. Minor Matters (Seattle)  minormattersbooks.com
  14. Radius Books (Santa Fe, NM)   radiusbooks.org
  15. TBW Books (Oakland, CA)  tbwbooks.com
  16. Twin Palms (Santa Fe, NM)  twinpalms.com
  17. Zatara Press (Richmond, VA)  zatarapress.com

International

  1. AKIO NAGASAWA Gallery (Tokyo)  akionagasawa.com
  2. Damiani (Italy)  damianieditore.com
  3. L’artiere (Italy)   lartiere.com
  4. Mack (London)  mackbooks.co.uk
  5. Super Labo (Japan)  superlabo.com
This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is AIPADShow_2018_FloorplanWeb_sm.jpg

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *